Brewing the NewfoundLambic

The NewfoundLambic Project is my first attempt at a long-termed soured beer. I’m trying out White Labs Belgian Sour Mix 1.

Here are the basic vitals:

Mash 11L at 148F for 60 minutes
6 lbs 2-Row (or a Belgian-ish pale pilsner malt) – ~65%
3.5 lbs Wheat Malt – ~35%

Two step batch sparge (15 minutes each) 6L and 13L at 168F.

Boil 75 minutes. At 60 minutes add 18g Saaz (or other nobel hop).

OG: 1.048, 5 gallons.

photo 1

Going to pitch a vial of White Labs Belgian Sour Mix I and then pop it in a closet in my parents house in Newfoundland for around a year (or until I’m home again). Might pitch in some dregs of any other lambics I drink along the way to introduce some other bugs into the mix. I’ll bottle it after a year if its tasting good and let it bottle condition for another couple years after that.

Update: December 27, 2013. Home for Christmas, so I got a chance to look at the beer. The beer is still aging well and has some veiny pelical growing nicely on top.

This entry was posted in Sour. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brewing the NewfoundLambic

  1. Pingback: 2013 Year in Upalong Homebrewing | Upalong Brewing

Comments are closed.